SAO has merged into
flagship of the International Press Syndicate.

- Suresh Jaura
Publisher and Managing Editor


0712 flag pakistanSectarian violence in Karachi is just another chapter in Pakistan’s long history of violence against minorities, has afflicted Pakistan virtually from its moment of birth...


U.S. allies in Europe, Asia and the Middle East, smiling through their teeth, are feverishly hoping that Washington will maintain its security commitments. The Russians are ... . . ..   


A US revaluation of its Af-Pak policy appears likely under Trump... It is, however, unlikely that US AfPak policy under Trump will be ‘more of the same’. Crucially, Pakistan’s role in supporting terrorism in Afghanistan . . .


Escalation of hostility may become a thermonuclear WWIII.


Non-Muslims in violent conflict areas to enhance the security...


With approval of power plants, conflicts have arisen ...


Growing support for suicide terrorism


NEPAL: News Briefs

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

President Yadav appoints EC office-bearers: President Ram Baran Yadav, on March 24, has appointed Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and four commissioners to the Election Commission (EC). President Yadav has appointed Nil Kantha Upreti as CEC and Dolakh Bahadur Gurung and Ayodi Prasad Yadav as Commissioners. Along with them, Ila Sharma and Ram Bhakta Thakur have been appointed commissioners. All the five names were selected by the high-level mechanism of four parties, which is headed by Unified Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist (UCPN-M) chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal. Nepal News, March 25, 2013.

President Ram Baran Yadav urges CC to clarify legality of re-appointment of commissioners: President Ram Baran Yadav on March 22 urged the chairman of the interim electoral Government, Khil Raj Regmi, who is ex-officio head of the Constitutional Council (CC), to clarify legality of the recommendations to re-appoint three former Election Commissioners. The CC on March 21 forwarded the names of five commissioners, including former Chief Election Commissioner Nilkantha Uprety, Commissioners Dolakh Bahadur Gurung and Ayodhee Prasad Yadav, to President Ram Baran Yadav for approval. eKantipur, March 23, 2013.

Chief Justice Khil Raj Regmi sworn in as the head of the Interim Election Council: Chief Justice Khil Raj Regmi on March 14 was sworn in as the head of the Interim Election Council (election Government). Earlier, on March 13, leaders from the four major political forces signed an 11-point political agreement. The agreement stated that the new CA will have 491 members. Of these, 240 members will be elected under the first-past-the-post electoral system and 240 will be elected under proportional representative quotas while another 11 members will be nominated by the cabinet on the basis of political agreement. The agreement further said that the interim cabinet will not be allowed to take any decision that may have a long-term impact on the country. The non-partisan Government has been entrusted with the responsibility of conducting new CA elections by June 21, 2013. NepalNews, March 13-14, 2013.

[Source: SATP]

QR Code

QR Code








We provide advertisers access to one of the largest and emerging South Asian markets.


Our goal is to be a comprehensive source of news and views on South Asia, India and Canada.


Since July 2001, South Asian Outlok Publisher and Columnists have been honoured for their work.

2008     2005   2004

Find us on linkedin
Follow Us