March 2008

Vol 7 - No. 9
























Entertainment | March 2008



   The 53rd Fair One Filmfare Award: A night to remember!


“Music is spiritual to me. It is inborn and I feel I am Blessed”. 
 - A. R. Rahman, who bagged the 53rd Fairone Filmfare Award for best music composer and best background score for Guru respectively

The evening of the 23rd day of February came and went, and the 53rd Fair One Filmfare Awards goes down in history as yet another one to be remembered and cherished. The tight security within the premises of Yashraj Studios, the elegance of the red carpet, the presence of stars who ensured that not a strand of hair was out of place at this very formal black tie event only added to the seriousness and elegance of Filmfare.  

The Bachchans, Ranis, Salmans, Hrithiks and Katrinas failed to show up, but the Preitys, Shah Rukhs, Priyankas, Bipashas, Johns, Saifs, Kareenas and Akshays ensured that the event shone nice and bright. Ably hosted by the sober Vidya Balan and Karan Johar, the crazy but intelligent co-hosts Shah Rukh and Saif were the 'dudes of the evening'. Their wit coupled with their ability to be very rude may have got them on the wrong side of many-a-person, but they surely found a place in the good books of audiences.


Though Himesh Reshammiya crooned – yes, in his popular nasal voice – for the audience, Akshay impressed with his dance histrionics.  


While the crowd won a lovely entertaining evening, the happiest of the lot were those who took home the lovely black lady - the Filmfare trophy.

Shah Rukh, Kareena, Aamir Khan, Imtiaz Ali, Tabu, Darsheel Safary, Konkona Sensharma, Irrfan Khan, AR Rahman, Shreya Ghoshal, Shaan, Rishi Kapoor, Ranbir Kapoor, Deepika Padukone... had reason enough to celebrate.   

And we celebrate, too. What exactly? The shaan of Filmfare, the antics of our actors, we celebrate the Indian film industry and above all else, the art of cinema! Here's to Filmfare, in all its glory! 


Here are the Filmfare 2008 Awards

Best Actor
Shahrukh Khan - Chak De India

Best Actress
Kareena Kapoor - Jab We Met

Best Film
Taare Zameen Par

Best Director
Aamir Khan - Taare Zameen Par

Critics' Award For Best Actor
Darsheel Safary - Taare Zameen Par

Critics' Award For Best Actress
Tabu - Cheeni Kum

Critics' Award For Best Film
Shimit Amin - Chak De India

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Irrfan Khan - Life in a... Metro

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Konkana Sen Sharma - Life in a... Metro

Best Lyrics
Prasoon Joshi - (Maa - Taare Zameen Par)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Shaan - (Jab Se Tere Naina - Saawariya)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghosal - (Barso Re - Guru)

Best Music
A. R. Rahman - Guru

Best Story
Amol Gupte - Taare Zameen Par

Best Screenplay
Anurag Basu - Life in a... Metro

Best Dialogue
Imtiaz Ali - Jab We Met

R. D. Burman Award
Monty Sharma (Saawariya)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Rishi Kapoor

Power Awards
Yash Chopra & Aditya Chopra

Best Debut (Male)
Ranbir Kapoor - Saawariya

Best Debut (Female)
Deepika Padukone - Om Shanti Om

Best Special Effects
Red Chillies Entertainment - Om Shanti Om

Sony Head N Shoulders Fresh Face of the Year Award
Deepika Padukone

Best Background Score
A. R. Rahman - Guru

Best Editing
Amitabh Shukla - Chak De India

Best Choreography
Saroj Khan (Barso Re Megha Re - Guru)

Best Action
Rob Miller - Chak De India

Best Art Direction
Samir Chanda - Guru

Best Sound
Leslie Fernandes - Johnny Gaddaar

Best Cinematography
Sudhip Chatterjee

Best Costumes
Sujata Sharma - Gandhi My Father




Copyright © Globalom Media 2008
Publisher and Managing Editor: Suresh Jaura
Hosted and webdesigned by Globalom Media