More than news & views -­ A complete source for South Asians

January 2002




Nobel Centennial - 2001

Another world is possible, a world of justice and peace…



Nobel Peace Laureates Centennial Appeal presented to Secretary General Kofi Annan after he was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 10 December 2001


UN, Kofi Annan awarded Nobel Peace Prize

On left is Gunnar Berge, Chairman of the Nobel Committee, who presented the award to Kofi Annan at a ceremony in Oslo.
Click here for details.



We, the undersigned Nobel Peace Laureates gathered for the centennial of the Nobel Prizes, express our joy at this year's award to the United Nations and its Secretary General, Kofi Annan.


We hope that our message of peace and justice will reach the hearts and minds of those in and out of government who have the power to make a better world.


We look forward to a world in which we the peoples, working in cooperation with governments, with full respect for international law, will enable the UN to fulfill its mission to save this and succeeding generations from the scourge of war.


We call for the prompt establishment of the International Criminal Court and full implementation of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, including economic, social, and cultural as well as civil and political rights.


We offer our support for the unrelenting, patient, and nonviolent pursuit of peace wherever conflicts may rage today or tomorrow, such as the Middle East, Colombia, or the Great Lakes of Africa.


We commit ourselves to work for the elimination of all weapons of mass destruction and the reduction and control of small arms and other conventional weapons.


We call on the human family to address the root causes of violence and build a culture of peace and hope. We know that another world is possible, a world of justice and peace. Together we can make it a reality.


Oslo, December 10, 2001

Signed by laureates present including:

Norman Borlaug
Adolfo Perez Esquivel
John Hume
Mairead Maguire
Rigoberta Menchu Tum
Jose Ramos-Horta
Joseph Rotblat
Oscar Arias Sanchez
Archbishop Desmond Tutu
Lech Walesa
Elie Wiesel
and representatives of AFSC, Amnesty International, International Peace Bureau, IPPNW, Pugwash Institute